Skip to main content

Administration and staff

Administration and staff - Available at University of Iceland

The Master's and Doctoral Programmes in Environment and Natural Resources are interdisciplinary programmes organised jointly by all the five schools of the University of Iceland: Education, Engineering and Natural Sciences, Health Sciences, Humanities, and Social Sciences. Academic staff members are directly employed by the Environment and Natural Resources Programme and located within various faculties within the University.

Administrative and Academic staff 

Academic Supervisor

Picture of Brynhildur DavíðsdóttirBrynhildur DavíðsdóttirProfessor5255233bdavids [at]

Programme Coordinator

Default image of a personRagnheiður Ásta SigurðardóttirProject Manager5254706rasta [at]

Academic staff

Picture of Brynhildur DavíðsdóttirBrynhildur DavíðsdóttirProfessor5255233bdavids [at]

Picture of Jón Geir PéturssonJón Geir PéturssonProfessor5255286jgp [at]

Picture of Lára JóhannsdóttirLára JóhannsdóttirProfessor5255995laraj [at]

Picture of Mariana Lucia TamayoMariana Lucia TamayoAssociate Professor5255226mlt [at]

Picture of Reynir Smári AtlasonReynir Smári AtlasonAdjunct Lecturer6605725reynirsmari [at]

Picture of Þröstur ÞorsteinssonÞröstur ÞorsteinssonProfessor5254940thorstur [at]

Programme Board

The Programme Board includes representatives from all the five Schools within University of Iceland, appointed according to the rules of study (Regulation no. 214-2011).

Current Board members (1 July 2023 - 30 July 2026):

Sveinn Agnarsson, Professor at the Faculty of Business Adminstration, Chair
Brynhildur Davíðsdóttir, Professor and Academic Supervisor of the Programme

School of Education
Ólafur Páll Jónsson, Professor at the Faculty of Education and Diversity
- Substitute member: Edda Elísabet Magnúsdóttir, Assistant Professor at the Faculty of subject teacher education

School of Engineering and Natural Sciences
Anna Dóra Sæþórsdóttir, Professor at the Faculty of Life and Environmental Sciences
- Substitute member: Rögnvaldur J. Sæmundsson, Professor at the Faculty of Industrial Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Computer Science

School of Health Sciences
María Guðjónsdóttir, Professor at the Faculty of Food Science and Nutrition
- Substitute member: Gunnar Guðmundsson, Professor at the Faculty of Medicine

School of Humanities
Sveinn Yngvi Egilsson, Professor at the Faculty of Icelandic and Comparative Cultural Studies
- Substitute member: Ragnheiður Kristjánsdóttir, Professor at the Faculty of History and Philosophy

School of Social Sciences
Helga Ögmundardóttir, Assistant Professor at the Faculty of Social and Human Sciences
- Substitute member: Daði Már Kristófersson, Professor at the Faculty of Economics