Icelandic Rectors' Conference | University of Iceland Skip to main content

Icelandic Rectors' Conference

The Icelandic Rectors' Conference is a standing committee of the Rectors of Higher Education Institutions that have been accredited by the Ministry of Education, Science and Culture. It operates according to the framework law on Higher Education Institutions, Acts on HEI's, no. 63/2006, Art. 26.  The Rectors Conference provides a forum for the process of forming joint policies and opinions, it has regular meetings and addresses topics on higher education.

According to the statues of their Rectors' Conference, the Rector of the University of Iceland is a permanent chair of the Conference. The Secretary-General to the Icelandic Rectors' Conference is Fridrika Hardardottir, Director, International Office of the University of Iceland.

The Rectors' Conference is a member of the European University Association (EUA) and the Association of Nordic University Rectors' Conference (NUS).

Icelandic Rectors' Conference

  • Jón Atli Benediktsson, Rector, University of Iceland, chair
  • Ari Kristinn Jónsson, Rector, Reykjavik University
  • Ragnheiður Inga Þórarinsdóttir, Rector, Agricultural University of Iceland
  • Erla Björk Örnólfsdóttir, Rector, Holar University College
  • Eyjólfur Guðmundsson, Rector, University of Akureyri
  • Fríða Björk Ingvarsdóttir, Rector, Iceland University of the Arts
  • Vilhjálmur Egilsson, Rector, Bifrost University
  • Secretary-General: Fridrika Hardardottir, Director, International Office, University of Iceland.

Contact information:

Icelandic Rectors' Conference
Fridrika Hardardottir, Secretary General
Director, International Office
University of Iceland
Sæmundargata 2
102 Reykjavík, Iceland
Tel: +354 525 4311

Is this page useful or is something missing?

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.