Skip to main content

EEA Grants

The EEA/Norway Grants fund (previously EFTA Development Fund) were established with the aim of balancing economic and social differences in the European Economic Area. The EEA/Norway grants are jointly financed by the EFTA states Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway (donor states). Beneficiary states are countries, which joined the European Union in 2004, i.e. Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, the Czech Republic, Slovenia, Slovakia, Hungry, Cyprus, and Malta; plus, Romania and Bulgaria, which joined the European Union in 2007; as well as Portugal, Spain, and Greece.

Applying for funding from the EEA Grants fund is always the responsibility of universities and research institutions in the beneficiary states. Those at the University of Iceland with an interest in collaborating with, for example, a university in one of the beneficiary states, should contact the university in question about a possible collaboration and must be included in the application process in order to benefit from the cooperation.

Such collaborations can be in the form of:

  • joint research
  • student exchange
  • teacher exchange
  • conferences and more

Partner Database

The Ministry for Foreign Affairs has set up a database for those interested in possible co-operation projects through the EEA/Norway Grants fund. Interested can register possible project ideas in the database where information is disseminated to the beneficiary states.

Further information and registration form on the website of the Ministry for Foreign Affairs.

The Icelandic Centre for Research, RANNÍS, is in an advisory role for the EEA/Norway Grants fund.