Aurora | University of Iceland Skip to main content


Aurora - Available at University of Iceland

Aurora is a network of European research intensive universities with high research impact; united by a shared commitment to social relevance and a diverse student body. The UN Sustainable Development Goals link all Aurora network activities. Student involvement is the key to Aurora.Aurora was formally launched in 2016. Jón Atli Benediktsson Rector has been a board member since 2017 and was elected President of the Aurora University Network in November 2020. 

In addition to the University of Iceland the members of Aurora are; Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam (The Netherlands), University of East Anglia (UK), University of Duisburg-Essen (Germany), Universität Innsbruck (Austria), University Federico II of Naples (Italy), Universitat Roviri i Virgili (Spain), University of Aberdeen (Scotland) og Université Grenoble-Alpes  (France).

Aurora Alliance

The Aurora network was expanded with the participation of Copenhagen Business School (Denmark) and Palacký University Olomuc (Czech Republic) forming the Aurora Alliance that applied for a grant to the European Commission for the European University Initiative

Last year the Aurora Alliance was selected as one of the European Universities Alliances and received a grant of seven million Euros for the next three years. The Aurora Alliance operations were launched November 2020.  Recently the Aurora Alliance, of which the University of Iceland is a member, was awarded a 2 million EUR grant from the Horizon 2020 – Science with and for Society (SwafS) - programme to strengthen and empower research support and innovation within the alliance.

Project Manager Aurora Alliance: Harpa Sif Arnarsdóttir ( /

The European Universities Initiative is designed to strengthen the European university system in a competitive global environment. It is the key pillar of the European Commissions emphasis in higher education and research. The transnational collaboration within European University Alliances is meant to fundamentally change how universities in Europe work together.  It is a unique opportunity for the University of Iceland to take part in this project with Aurora Alliance.

The Aurora Alliance emphases are on social innovation and entrepreneurship with the aim of graduating students who are willing and able to tackle the most challenging issues in society. 

The four pilot domains are:

  • Sustainability & Climate Change
  • Digital Society & Global Citizenship
  • Health & Well-being
  • Culture: Diversity & Identity  

The University of Iceland's contacts to the Aurora Network and Aurora Alliance are:
Friðrika Harðardóttir, Director of the International Division, ( and
Halldór Jónsson, Director of the Division of Science and Innovation (
Emily Reise, the Student Council International Officer, is the student representative (

Aurora Alliance Spring Academic Meeting 30 March - Programme

Further information on the Universities in the Aurora Network: 

Further information

Is this page useful or is something missing?

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.