Skip to main content

Lecture about the recipients of the Fields medal 2022

Lecture about the recipients of the Fields medal 2022 - Available at University of Iceland
Thu, 24/11/2022 - 17:00 to 18:15


Room 105

Further information 
Open to all

The Fields medal in mathematics is considered as one of the most prestigious honour that a mathematician can get. It is awarded every four years, to one to four mathematicians who are younger than 40, for a significant contribution to research in mathematics. In the year 2022, the recipients were  Hugo Duminil-Copin, June Huh, James Maynard and Maryna Viazovska.

At the lecture, four mathematicians at the University of Iceland will give short presentations about the recipients and their research.  The speakers are Anders Claesson, Valentina Giangreco Puletti, Álfheiður Edda Sigurðardóttir and Adam Timar.

The lectures will either be in English or Icelandic and are directed towards everyone who is interested in mathematics and it will not be assumed that the audience is proficient in mathematics.

The lecture is held by the Icelandic mathematical society